[2021-09-06] Have a nice day

Last night and this morning, I listened to Have a Nice Day, which co-writer Billy Crystal describes as "an audio drama"a movie for the ears performed on stage before a live audience then shared with subscribers of Audible.

Billy Crystal plays Death's repo man. He comes to Washington to announce to the President of the United States: "I'm here to take you...to eternity. It's your time. Today's your day."

President David Murray, played by Kevin Kline, asks, "Am I dreaming?"

The repo man replies: "This is the day you die."

Murray protests, saying "Everybody should have a chance to say goodbye." His wife is out of the country, he explains, and his daughter is graduating from high school. He argues that if Death's agent needs to take him today, he should have the whole day, so that he can say goodbye.

Reluctantly, the repo man says, "I guess I can give you until one second before midnight."

"How about a full 24?" suggests the President.

"No, no," replies the repo man. "That would be tomorrow." He vows to return at one second before midnight, then says, "Have a nice day."

The remainder of the play follows President Murray on his day, which includes giving an address at his daughter's graduation ceremony. Realizing that this is one of the last times he will be able to impart wisdom to his daughter and others, he discards his prepared speech and offers these remarks instead.

What if I told you that I woke up this morning and Death was sitting right at the end of my bed. Well, he was. And what's occurred to me, as this day has worn on, is that he's been there, in fact, every day. I just didn't notice.... There are reminders everywhere that our time here is limited....

So today, I'm challenging you, in the way that I have been challenged. What if you woke up and found out today is your last day? Look in your heart. Are the choices, the decisions moment to moment that you makeare you making the right ones?

If today is your last one, what are you leaving behind? Are you leaving the world a better place than when you found it?

When I look into my daughter's face, I know that I am. She is my greatest contribution to the world. But all of you, you have a legacy tooeven at your age. Your being here today, on this earth, at this momentit matters....

I'm asking you to live with grace, with honor, with courage and compassion. If you do this, you will never have to worry about what you leave behind.

Love, love. That's all. The love I'm talking about is not a feeling. It's an action. It's an act of will. It's the act of giving, of self-sacrifice, of working for the common good. It's the capacity to put aside your personal desires so that someone else might flourish. This is the kind of love that changes lives. It's the kind of love that changes the world. It's the kind of love that creates a future everyone wants to live in.

So, no postponing. Love immediately. Love extravagantly. Like there's no tomorrow. Because, one day, that just might be true.

As I lounged in bed this morning, listening to the play, I perked up at this speech.

I agree that Death is ever-present. I have felt his presence on some days more than others. I know, all too well, that our time on earth is limited.

Since being diagnosed with cancer, I have made different decisionschoosing to spend more time with family. I was lucky that my illness came at the end of my career. I transitioned from work to cancer treatment to recovery to retirement.

My legacy includes two amazing kidsShane and Melanie. They are among my greatest contributions to the world. But my legacy is more than my childrenas significant as they are. I agree with Maya Angelou, who said, "Your legacy is every life you touch, everybody you encounter." For me, this includes my husband, family, friends, relatives, school chums, coworkers, fellow volunteers, neighbours, social media followers and readers of this blog. It also includes anyone who benefited from the work I did during my career, even if they never knew that the work was mine.

I appreciate the speech's definition of love: love is an act of will, of giving, of self-sacrifice, of working for the common good. I have the utmost respect for people who work for the common good. Medical professionals immediately come to mind, as do people striving to protect the environment. As the President says, this is the kind of love that changes lives, that changes the world, that creates a future everyone wants to live in.

I also love the speech's call to action, which bears repeating: Love immediately. Love extravagantly. Like there's no tomorrow. Because, one day, that just might be true.