[2021-09-12] Walk of Hope appreciation

Tonight's post begins with some thank yous.
  1. I thank everyone who donated to today's Ovarian Cancer Canada Walk of Hope. Together, we raised $1,295. Added to your donations of $7,741 to my Beau's 5K for Ovarian Cancer Canada in July, we have raised $9,036 to help provide support for women and families affected by ovarian cancer, raise public awareness and fund much-needed research.
  2. I thank everyone who liked, shared and commented on my social media posts today and in the past. Doing so helps to increase awareness of ovarian cancer, which is as important as raising money. You also helped to raise my spirits and to make me feel loved.
  3. I thank my walking buddies. My kids, Shane and Melanie, walked with me on my first 5K of the day. And my sister, Kathleen, walked with me for an additional 7K. By 6:00 p.m. today, I had accumulated more than 14.5 km and 21,000 steps. I wanted my effort to reflect your generosity.

While I was walking today, a friend sent me a fitting quote by Kathy Calvin: "Giving is not just about making a donation. It is about making a difference." I can tell you, unequivocally, that you are making a difference in the lives of people with ovarian cancer as well as their loved ones. And you are making a difference in my life. I am exceedingly grateful for all the support I have received over the past 13 months.

I hope that you all sleep as well tonight as I will!