[2021-09-18] A little soirée

On a whim, Chris and I decided to head down to Lansdowne Park to take in a little bit of CityFolk. The night's headliner, Canadian country singer Dean Brody, was playing when we arrived.

The crowdthough small in comparison to those of previous editions of CityFolkappeared happy to be there, and Dean and his band were thrilled to be playing live music in front of an audience after so many months away.

The Great Lawn at Lansdowne Park is a beautiful venue for an outdoor concert. Chris and I sat on a bench, well back from the stage. I wrapped myself in a blanket that I had brought from the car, and snuggled up to Chris to stave off the cold. I felt safe there, distanced from other festival goers. The sound was plenty loud. And we were well positioned to simply watch people enjoying themselves.

Going out after dark, especially to see live music, makes me feel like I'm back in my youth. Still, I wasn't disappointed when the show wrapped up just before 10:00 p.m. so that we could return home at a decent hour after our little soirée.