[2021-09-26] Ebb and flow

We got a mix of everything today: sun and rain, coolness and warmth, clouds and rainbows. On a visit to the country, I noted hints of fall in the air, and yetfor the most partit felt like a lovely late summer day. I suppose that even though we're technically already in autumn, I wanted to hold on to summer for a few days more.

The changing weather over the course of the day reminded me of the ebb and flow of life. Sometimes there is sun, other times there is rain, and occasionally there are rainbows.

I went for my walk after supper, as I had been busy earlier in the day making bagels for loved ones. It was a wonderful evening to be out. Darkness fell as I returned home.

The earlier and earlier arrival of nightfall is a harbinger of fall and winter. Summer is slipping away. The changing seasons are a reminder that life marches on. As several people said to me today, in different contexts, life is short.

Against that backdrop, I offer these suggestions. Be kind. Speak gently. Rejoice in your blessings and the good fortune of others. Share your abundance. Respect others and expect them to return the courtesy. Believe in your choices and honour those of others. Value yourself and walk away from situations that don't support your self-worth.

Life is too short to accept things that you are not OK with.