[2021-09-29] 2b determined and CA125

Today, I had my second appointment with Dr. Frank, The Ottawa Hospital plastic surgeon who specializes in breast reconstruction. This was my fourth appointment to discuss the possibility of a prophylactic bilateral mastectomy: two discussions with breast surgical oncologist Dr. Cordeiro (2b or not 2b and 2b goes on) and two meetings with Dr. Frank (2b continued).

I finalized my decision, signing the paperwork to proceed with what I've called Option 2b: a prophylactic bilateral mastectomy with reconstruction using implants. The surgery is expected to take place in approximately six months.

Dr. Frank invited me to pose additional questions in the intervening period, should I have them, and left the door open to my changing my mind.

I don't expect to change my mind, as I feel good about my decision. In all health-related matters, I weigh the benefits and risks of any intervention to arrive at a conclusion. No choice offers zero risk, including the choice to do nothing. My aim is always to maximize the benefits and minimize the risks to my health.

Also today, I went for my monthly blood work. As always, I inhaled when I clicked on my CA125 result in MyChart, and exhaled when I saw another 7my sixth month in a row at that gorgeous low and steady number.

I had several conversations today in which I repeated the perspective that we are the head of our healthcare team. By way of example, on March 25, I learned that I had a BRCA2 gene mutation in all my cells, putting me at significant risk for breast cancer. On April 9, at my next cancer follow-up, I discussed my genetic results with my gynecologic oncologist and asked him to refer me to a breast surgeon. On June 2, I had my first conversation with Dr. Cordeiro, who subsequently referred me to Dr. Frank, with whom I met on September 8. This was succeeded by follow-up discussions with Dr. Cordeiro on September 22 and Dr. Frank on September 29. With surgery another six months out, the entire process of taking action to reduce the risk caused by my BRCA2 gene change will be a year. Had I dithered at the front end and not taken charge of my health, the time for action would have been pushed even further into the future.

My husband remarked the other day that all we seem to be doing is going to appointments for health-related matters. It certainly feels that way.

We are lucky to be retired and to have the time to focus on our health. The alternative is well captured in this adage: if you do not make time for your wellness, you will be forced to make time for your illness.