[2021-10-08] Fluffy Freddie

My almost 15-year-old dog, Freddie, loves to sit outside on the grass. When I got home from a few errands late this morning, Freddie made a beeline for the front lawn, his preferred place to lounge. So I sat out with him. It wasn't much of a sacrifice given how beautiful a day it was.

I thought I might write my blog post while keeping Freddie company. The subject that came to mind was things to be thankful for, in honour of the upcoming holiday and in celebration of the many good things in my life.

The first thing that came to mind was Freddie, perhaps because he was in my line of sight but mostly because I am grateful for his enduring presence in my life. But instead of starting my post, I made an impromptu decision to head out to the self-serve pet wash at my local pet store. Given Freddie's mobility issues, he can't make it upstairs to the bath, so the pet wash is a terrific alternative.

Chris provided the muscle of the operation, lifting Freddie into and out of the car, and into and out of the pet wash. I handled the bath and the blow dry.

Back at home, Freddie relaxed in his favourite spot once again while I brushed him. He positively gleamed. Melanie snapped the pick of Fluffy Freddie.

When my neighbour came out of her house, she commented on Freddie's spa day. It was a good day for a spa day!

At supper, Melanie remarked that I must be feeling better given my afternoon exertion with the dog. I hadn't thought about it until she mentioned it, but I did indeed feel completely back to normal.

I will save, for another day, my list of things to be thankful for. Today, I give thanks for Freddie.