[2021-10-11] Thanksgiving

On this Thanksgiving Monday, it is opportune to think about the many things that I am thankful for. It goes without saying that family is at the top of the list, as is financial security, a comfortable home and a peaceful community.

Here are 10 not-so-obvious things I'm thankful for:
  1. Adult children. I love that we can tackle projects together, support each other, and just pick up and head out to see something because it sounds like a cool thing to do.
  2. French. I'm grateful that I was given opportunities to learn French. It has been so rewarding to be able to understand a second language and to communicate with francophones in their mother tongue.
  3. Technology. In the same vein, I appreciate technologies that help people to learn, use or understand other languages; one of my favourites is the translation tool DeepL. I also appreciate having answers to almost every possible question in my pocket, apps to help me stay organized, and platforms to stay in touch with people I care about.
  4. The seasons. As much as I love summer, with its warm weather and long days, I'm equally fond of the other seasons. I love fall's glorious colours, crisp air and cool evenings. I appreciate winter's snow, soft and beautiful and crunchy underfoot. And I welcome spring's renewal, with all the gardening potential, bursts of colour and earthy smells.
  5. Skills. I'm grateful for the many talents I've cultivated over the years, including organizational skills, reasoning competencies and writing ability. Writing, in particular, has proven to be an effective means of processing my emotions and of connecting with others.
  6. Audio books. I have my employees to thank for turning me on to audio books: they bought me a one-year subscription to Audible. I listen to audio books on my solo walks and when falling asleep. What an advancement from the days when audio books were physical books-on-tape.
  7. Checking things off a list. I keep a lot of lists, such as what to do, what to buy and what to eat. Checking things off the list is incredibly satisfying.
  8. Compliments. Compliments are as wonderful to give as to receive. One compliment often engenders another, in a virtuous circle of mutual admiration.
  9. Healthcare professionals. I'm thankful for all the healthcare professionals who have diagnosed, treated and supported me, including my oncologists, the many nurses I've met, and my cancer coach.
  10. Being alive. With cancer, and ovarian cancer in particular, there are no guarantees. I am alive today and I'm thankful for that.

I hope that you enjoyed a safe, loving and positive Thanksgiving.