[2021-10-12] Be kind to your future self

Mel and I were up a little earlier than usual this morning because she had an 8:00 a.m. dentist appointment.

As we ate breakfast, Mel told me that she had gone to bed at a good hour last night so as to be rested when her alarm went off. She referred to that as "being kind to her future self."

I had never heard that idea, but loved it immediately. I imagined using the concept to motivate Present Jen to make better decisions today to benefit Future Jen tomorrow. The concept also works in reverse, said Mel. Present Jen can thank Past Jen for positive actions taken yesterday.

Here is a list of my favourite steps that I can take today to make life easier for my future self:
  • Get a good night's sleep. I've always struggled with this one, as I tell myself "just one more email" or "just one more article." Reminding myself that Future Jen will be grateful that Present Jen went to bed early might just do the trick.
  • Set your clothes out the night before. When I worked outside the home, I would do this when I had a big day planned, or when I knew that my morning would be hurried. Picking an outfit the night before was one way to relieve stress. While I have fewer places to go and people to see in retirement, I will use this trick whenever I need to make sure I'm ready to go with the least amount of fuss.
  • Plan your meals. This simple step can alleviate all sorts of stress: no more struggling to come up with a meal idea when you're already hungry or tired, fewer trips to the store to get the one or two ingredients needed to make a recipe chosen at the last minute, healthier food choices.
  • Do the dishes. We do a lot of cooking, which means we do a lot of dishes. We almost always clean up after each meal. This is appreciated by everyone in the household, but especially the next person to cook. And there’s nothing better than coming home after a long day out, only to remember that you cleaned your kitchen. Thanks, Past Me!
  • Add items to your grocery list as soon as you run out. I'm the unofficial list keeper in our family. When we run out of something or will soon do so, the person who notices it informs me, and I add the item to my grocery list. Whenever I'm at the store, I check my list to see whether I can pick up a few staples in addition to the ingredients I need for that night's meal. I love having everything I need on hand when I cook or bake.
  • Have a backup. For items that you can't live without, keep a back-up on hand. As soon as the back-up item comes out of storage (e.g., the supply cabinet, the pantry, the garage), make a point to replace it.
  • Use a calendar app. Add all commitments to your calendar, set reminders to allow sufficient prep and travel time if required, and note commitments of other family members if you will need to accompany them.
  • Make and keep your healthcare appointments. Regular check-ins with doctors, optometrists, dentists, etc. are essential to maintaining your health and discovering problems before they snowball. Of all the things your Future Self will thank you for, taking care of your health is likely to be at the top of the list.
This last one is especially important. Present Jen will always be grateful to Past Jen for going to the Queensway Carleton Hospital in July 2020 because of abdominal pain. Past Jen’s kindness and attention to her body helped ensure that my ovarian cancer was diagnosed sooner than it might have otherwise been. I plan to continue taking actions to protect Future Jen's health.