[2021-10-15] Go for it

I had coffee with a friend today. It was a beautiful day to sit outside, sipping hot lattés.

We talked about a range of subjects, one of which was the fact that many people never know the impact they have had on others. My friend had recently attended a number of celebrations of life, occasions in which the living share touching stories about the deceased, who may have never realized the esteem in which they were held.

I agreed, for the most part. But I did comment that I have been the beneficiary of many expressions of appreciation since being diagnosed with cancer. It's as though the life-threatening nature of cancer spurs people to share their affection and gratitude with me now, lest they miss their chance.

I also noted that my blog creates a channel through which it's easy for people to connect with me. The asynchronous nature of email and social mediathe primary means through which I publicize new postsmeans that followers can read my posts when they have time and I can read their responses when it's convenient for me. So neither I nor my readers need to feel as though we might be intruding on the other.

My friend mentioned that sometimes she thinks about someone from her past and considers reaching out to them, but she hesitates. I used to think the same way. But I now believe that life's too short and too uncertain not to let others know how we feel about them.

My advice to my friend was this: "Do it! Don't hesitate." If you think of someone and wonder how they're doing or want to pass along a compliment, go for it.