[2021-10-24] Picture

I took a picture with my heart today.

I had been working outside in the garden, cleaning up the backyard as Freddie lounged on the grass. Neither Chris nor I had settled on something for supper. As I worked, I remembered the marinara sauce I had made in the summer and put in the freezer. I stuck my head in the house and suggested to Chris that we have it for supper with pasta and some odds and ends from the fridge.

Some 30 minutes later, I entered the house and helped Chris to put our humble meal on the table. The kids joined us, and we enjoyed a simple dish and our customary game of Jeopardysomething we've been playing together for many years.

We capped off our meal with some squares that I had made earlier in the afternoon.

I realized, in that moment, how lucky we are to be together, as a family, after almost three decades. I said as much to my husband and children. I also commented that, with few exceptions, we always manage to come up with something for a meal. There's no "fend for yourself" in our house.

While we spend time in duos and trios doing other activitiessuch as walking, shopping or doing dishesit's food that brings us all together. That's when the four of us most enjoy each other's company.

I took a picture with my heart today.