[2021-10-28] Charitable Campaign videos

Seven weeks ago, I recorded footage that would make its way into English and French videos for the Government of Canada Workplace Charitable Campaign. The videos capture my story as well as my support for the Charitable Campaign. These are my favourite messages from the two videos:
  • I never thought that I would be a recipient of the very services that I was contributing to [through the Charitable Campaign].
  • One day we're contributing and another day we're receiving.
  • There is such joy that comes from giving, and being able to give.
  • We are quite lucky in the Public Service. For the most part, we've been able to continue our work. We've been able to work from home. We've been able to make a difference in the lives of Canadians or people in our communities.
  • And giving in whatever form that iswhether that's financial contributions, or volunteering our time, or making use of our talentprovides such a return to us. It makes us feel good. It makes us feel connected to other people.
  • Getting involved in the Campaign is such a great way not only to give to others but to get what they call the giver's highknowing that we're making a difference in the lives of individuals.
  • Just as I never thought that I would get sick, I never thought that I would be an individual who would have a story to tell about benefiting from services that are funded directly or indirectly through the Charitable Campaign.
  • It feels really good to be able to give back, and I feel quite honoured to be asked to share my story.
  • La Campagne de charité est une bonne opportunité de rendre un service à d'autres gens. [The Charitable Campaign is a great opportunity to give back to others.]
  • Comme survivante de cancer, c'est très important pour moi de croire que j'aurai un avenir. Et je trouve que la Campagne nous donne la chance de donner, non seulement à notre avenir, mais à l'avenir d'autres gens. [As a cancer survivor, it is very important to me to believe that I will have a future. And I feel that the Campaign gives us the chance to give not only to our future, but to the future of other people.]
The videos are available on YouTube with different content in the English and French videos.