[2021-11-02] Feeling down? Get busy!

In response to last night's post on Mental health self-care, a wise and dear friend wrote to me to say that, for her, the cure to feeling down was getting busy: cleaning the stove, the fridge, one room from corner to corner. Anything physical worked. And then she would reward herself with a good book. She speculated that this approach came from growing up on a farm, where down time came only after the day's chores were finished.

I, too, grew up on a farm, and I still reserve down time for after my chores are done, particularly the writing, publishing and sharing of my daily posts. Similarly, I try to reserve sweet treats for the evening, which helps me avoid consuming them during the day.

I recognize that my friend's simple prescription for dealing with the blues may not work for everyone. Some experts argue that we sometimes pile on commitments to avoid dealing with uncomfortable emotionsthat we occupy ourselves to distract us from our feelings.

However, I've always found that doing something physical that requires limited concentrationsuch as walking, cleaning a room, or gardeningallows me to contemplate an issue without focusing on it directly. It offers a perfect balance between fixating on a problem and ignoring it completely, which often leads to a fresh perspective.

And, as last night's post indicated, a small, uplifting home project can provide a sense of control, not to mention a happier, healthier space.

Feeling down? Try getting busy.