[2021-11-22] Patience and time

I had a dental hygiene appointment this morning, scheduled long before I knew that I would be having surgery last week. I almost canceled today's appointment, thinking that I couldn't possibly sit through an hour-long procedure when I feel like the two-inch gash in my left butt cheek is being held together by barbed wire. (Thankfully, it doesn't constantly feel like that, but in some moments, that's the image that comes to mind.)

But I didn't want to call my dentist's office just a few hours before my cleaning and cancel my appointment. So I got creative. The peanut-shaped pillow that provided neck support during my chemotherapy was repurposed to provide fanny support during my dental cleaning. It worked surprisingly well.

My hygienist also helped by making a few adjustments, such as getting me into a reclined position as quickly as possible, and collecting my belongings at the end of my appointment so that I could avoid bending down.

The most difficult part of the ordeal was traveling to and from the appointment. For the car ride, I took along a firm cushion that Chris had bought for me while I was working very long hours in the early days of the pandemic. During that period, I was spending so much time sitting in one place that my bum muscles were constantly sore. The cushion has been a lifesaver this past week.

Over the weekend, and again today, I spent most of my time lying in bed. This gives me the greatest amount of pain relief and my incision the best chance to heal. I feel like Forrest Gump after he got shot "in the buttocks," except that I'm not eating ice cream.

I always think that I'll recover quickly from anything I put my body through, but this recuperation is taking longer than I anticipated.

I'm reminded of the Leo Tolstoy quote: "The two most powerful warriors are patience and time." I don't know what Tolstoy meant by this statement, but it reminds me that the two most powerful aids in my recovery are time and patience. I'm lucky to live with family members who can attend to all the household chores, including grocery shopping and cooking, leaving me the time to simply heal.

As for patience, it's easier to cultivate when I have something to distract myself: for the past few days, I've been binge-watching the Great Canadian Baking Show on Netflix. I love watching the home bakers rise to each challenge even if I never intend to replicate their creations for fear that my gallbladder would rebel. It makes me think that we need a Great Canadian Food Guide Show, in which competitors are challenged to make delicious dishes that are also healthy. I would watch that!

One of the advantages of spending so much time in bed (aside from watching Netflix) is that I can doze off if I'm tired. Sleeping is good for my healing too.

It's hard to imagine that I will once again be power walking on local trails as I rack up 10,000 steps every 24 hours, but that day will come. In the meantime, I'll rest, relax and dream of being a star baker.