[2021-12-02] Setback

Tonight's Jenesis post comes to you from the General Campus of The Ottawa Hospital.

I appear to have developed an infection as a complication of my surgery on November 15. My incision has opened a little.

I thought that I was recovering well until I developed a fever last night. I knew that a fever was not a good sign.

I decided to come to The Ottawa Hospital first thing this morning. Blood tests and an examination by a surgeon supported the diagnosis of a mild infection. I was put on antibiotics and admitted to the hospital where the healthcare team can monitor me for fever, treat the infection and ensure it doesn't get worse, and take care of my incision.

While this is unexpected, I know that I will be well cared for here. I'll be in the hospital for a day or two.

I took the opportunity to get my monthly blood work done in relation to monitoring for ovarian cancer recurrence. I was almost afraid to open my CA125 result. You may recall that it ticked up from 7 to 8 last month. I was worried that the number would continue to climb.

I'm thrilled to share that it remains at 8 this month, which is stable and well below the normal range of less than 35. It was the best news I had received today.

Tonight, I am reminded of the Japanese proverb: fall down seven times, get up eight. I will rise again.