[2021-12-23] Photos

When someone wants to take a picture of me, I tip my chin, look straight at the camera and smile.

I wasn't always this way. I used to protest, raising a hand to cover my face as a way of discouraging the photographer. I rarely succeeded in dissuading anyone bent on capturing the moment. The result was a crappy photo of me with a hand in front of my face.

After seeing a few such unflattering pics of myself, I decided that when someone invited me to be in a photo, I would embrace the moment, pose and smile. I went from camera-shy to camera-ready.

I remembered this when reading an Instragram post by Nicky Newman (@nicknacklou) today. (I started following Nicky on the suggestion of a friend, who found Nicky's positive approach to her diagnosis of incurable stage 4 breast cancer and her encouragement to others to check their breasts inspiring.)

Nicky's Instagram post presents a photo of her with Santa Clausa picture she initially did not want to take because she worried that she would be taking up too much of Santa's time while kids were waiting outside. But Santa's elf insisted, and Nicky was glad that she did. "Because now I have this photo!!!" writes Nicky. "It makes me smile from ear to ear every time I look at it, I remember the joy, the magic, the fun we had clear as day."

Her advice to others is simple: "So the next time someone says ‘get in’ the photo, GET IN IT!" Pictures bring back memories of a particular moment or event, which makes them worth the effort, says Nicky. Beyond that, she notes, "one day someone will be grateful you took the photo & that you are in it."

That bears repeating. One day, someone will be grateful that you got in the photo. Snapshots bring joy not just to you but also to anyone who is fond of you. So, as Nicky advises, "Stop making excuses and be part of the joy."