[2021-12-31] Happy always comes back

I went for three walks today: one this morning on my own, one early this afternoon with my sister (masked because we're from different households), and one late this afternoon with my daughter.

While on our walk, my daughter and I spoke with a couple who were out walking their dog. After a few minutes of discussion, the man said to me, "You're Freddie's owner, right?" When I acknowledged that I was, he proceeded to tell me how significant a role Freddie and I had played in their getting their sheepadoodle, Winston. About 4½ years ago, I met the man and his then 11-year-old daughter when I was out for a walk with Freddie. The daughter was afraid of dogs but took a shine to Freddie, and he to her. I asked her whether she wanted to walk Freddie and when she nodded, I gave her the leash. We proceeded to walk together for the next 10 minutes or so, chatting away, probably about dogs. The girl was smitten.

The couple told me today that their daughter often recalls the day she met Freddie. As a result of that encounter, the girl went from fearing dogs to loving them. Her family got Winston soon after.

It was such a heartwarming story—very welcome after yesterday's frustrations.

As a good friend said to me today, "happy always comes back." She described this as a mantra, along with "I can do hard things."

Happy does come back.

Happy New Year's Eve everyone.