[2022-01-03] Pelvic MRI

I had my pelvic MRI this morning—the test to ensure that I don't have cancer in my pelvic lymph nodes.

It was eerily quiet wherever I went today. There were few cars en route to my appointment at The Ottawa Hospital. There was no line-up in the hospital's lobby. The hallways were empty, and the lights in most departments were dim, as many hospital workers had the day off in lieu of New Year's Day.

The man who did my COVID screening thought I was fortunate to have had my MRI scheduled when it was, as he expected further restrictions in hospitals to be announced shortly. I did feel lucky that my assessment was proceeding as planned.

As I got into the elevator to go up to the MRI unit, I noticed a young man carrying a small container with the words Human Organ on it. I pointed at it and said, "Does that really contain a human organ?" He looked bewildered until he glanced down and remembered what he was carrying. "Oh," he replied. "No, that's my lunch."

I arrived at the MRI unit, the only department with its lights on. Given the high demand for MRI tests in Ottawa, that department appears to work around the clock.

Having had MRIs before, I knew what to expect: the confined tube-like space, the loud banging, the requests to breathe in and hold, the IV to enable the technicians to inject me with contrast towards the end of the assessment.

The first time I had an MRI, my trick to remain calm was to count down from 300 to 0. That worked quite well, as it gave me something to focus on other than the tight space and intense noises.

Today, I used a different technique. I pictured myself in various situations, depending on the sound. For example, I imagined that I was stepping onto a train (the Orient Express, to be more precise) and hearing a conductor call out: "All aboard!" I envisioned myself diving deep beneath the waves. I fancied myself playing laser tag. I dreamed that I was at a rock concert. I visualized myself operating a jackhammer. It was quite amusing, and very effective. The time passed quickly.

When I returned home, I heard the news that the Ontario government will be instructing hospitals to pause all non-emergent and non-urgent procedures and surgeries. Perhaps my MRI would not have been impacted, given that it was related to cancer and didn't require a stay in hospital. Still, I'm glad to have it behind me.

I am scheduled to begin radiation therapy on Wednesday, so I expect to receive the results of my MRI within the next day or so. I'm hoping that the medical oncologist who ordered the test will have predicted accurately and that I do, indeed, have no cancer in my pelvic lymph nodes.