[2022-01-05] First radiation treatment

Today, I had my first radiation treatment. It went smoothly. Everyone at the Irving Greenberg Family Cancer Centre was incredibly friendly, welcoming and gentle—walking me through what to expect and explaining every step in the process. It felt like my first day of school with a really nice teacher.

After checking in, I spent about 20 minutes with a nurse, whose primary role seemed to be making me feel comfortable with the process while answering any questions I had. I did feel comfortable.

Through my conversation with various healthcare professionals (doctors, nurses, radiation technicians) as well as my reading of the information I was provided in advance, I have come to understand that the biggest challenge with radiation therapy is the side effects on the skin. This can include a skin reaction that feels like a sunburn. This is most likely to occur 2-3 weeks after the start of treatment, as the effects of radiation are cumulative. Patients can experience discomfort, itchiness, tenderness, swelling and reddening of the skin that is treated. To manage such symptoms, patients are advised to choose lukewarm water when bathing or showering, to use mild soap with no scents or perfumes, to be gentle when washing and drying the treated area, and to wear soft, breathable, loose-fitting clothing. Other possible side effects are diarrhea and cramping associated with more urgent and frequent bowel movements. Patients are advised to eat a diet with less fibre, to avoid foods that can lead to gas or cramps (such as carbonated drinks, beer, beans, cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower and highly spiced foods), and to try eating 6-7 small meals per day instead of three large ones. Another possible side effect is bladder irritation, leading to more urgent and frequent need to urinate. Patients are advised to drink plenty of fluids throughout the day and to limit their consumption of fluids in the evening, to limit foods that may worsen bladder irritation (such as spicy foods, acidic foods and sugars), and to reduce their intake of acidic juices, alcohol, carbonated drinks, and caffeinated coffee and tea.

None of this sounds pleasant, but I'm following an adage that a friend repeats to me frequently: "there's no way out but through." Having chosen this path to deal with the precancerous cells that remained after my recent surgery and to reduce my risk of further perianal skin cancer, I'll see it through.

Two hours before my scheduled radiation treatment, the results of my pelvic MRI popped into MyChart. I'm not a healthcare professional, but I think that the results are good news. For the various parts of my pelvic area, the recurring conclusion was "No important abnormality." There is no evidence to suggest a recurrence of the perianal tumour (the one removed in the November 15 surgery) and no lymphadenopathy, which would mean lymph nodes that are abnormal in size (e.g., greater than 1 cm) or consistency. That conclusion, plus the fact that my radiation therapy proceeded today as planned, suggests to me that this is good news.

As an added bonus, my MRI includes this statement: "No abnormal pelvic soft tissue masses to suggest local recurrence of ovarian malignancy." I take this as a positive indication, along with yesterday's 8 on my CA125 test, that my ovarian cancer has not returned.

One more side effect of radiation therapy is fatigue. I expect that I will be taking it easy for the next month. Grabbing naps as needed. Watching the British and Canadian baking shows. Eating comfort food that's not on the naughty list.

For now, it's 1 down, 24 to go.