[2022-01-08] Respect for service providers

I did something today that I've never done before: I picked up groceries that I had ordered online. At 9:00 AM, I drove to a grocery store near my house, parked in a designated spot, and called a number to let them know that I had arrived. A few minutes later, as my daughter and I sat in our warm car, a kind young woman brought out our groceries, even loading them in the back of the car. I asked whether she was Eva, who had called me earlier in the morning from the grocery store to ask whether I was OK with a particular substitution. Our delivery woman said that her name was Fatima. She told us that it was her first week on the job when we noted that this was our first time buying groceries in this manner. Melanie and I thanked her for her work, especially on what was one of the coldest days in Ottawa this winter. As we were driving home, Eva called to tell me that the flowers included in our order were not charged to us; they were complimentary, in recognition of our first order. I thanked Eva for calling, saying that I would probably have arrived home and worried that poor Fatima had accidentally given me flowers intended for someone else. The entire process—from the high-tech ordering system and accompanying emails to the high-touch service excellence provided by Eva and Fatima—left both Mel and me feeling very satisfied and grateful.

When I got home, I received a text from a technician who had arranged to come to our house at noon to fix our garage door. Jason asked whether he could reschedule the appointment to tomorrow given the cold weather. I replied: "Absolutely Jason. I was thinking about you and how cold it is today. Tomorrow is fine." This followed a text exchange from the previous day in which I had written: "I expect that you're waiting for a part for our garage door," which reflected the last communication I had had from him. I continued: "Do you have a sense as to when the part will be in and our door fixed? Thanks for your help." Jason replied 10 minutes later to propose a service call the following day, which we later mutually agreed to postpone by a day. I knew that waiting another day would make little difference to me but a huge difference to Jason.

Yesterday, after my radiation treatment, I asked the woman who greets patients and visitors as they enter the Irving Greenberg Family Cancer Centre what her name was. I had memorized the names of my radiation technicians—the absolutely lovely Brenda and Dawn—but I had not yet learned the name of the screener even though I had already seen her half a dozen times. I couldn't imagine going to the Cancer Centre another 22 times and not being able to address her by name. She told me her name, and I shared mine. Now I'll be able to say, "Good morning, Patricia" every time I visit the Cancer Centre.

This afternoon, while on our walk, Mel and I talked about respect for service providers. She described it as seeing service providers as humans and not services. Fatima isn't just a deliverer of groceries; she is a young woman working in the cold to put groceries in the back of customers' cars while they sit in comfort. Jason isn't just a fixer of garage doors; he is a human being trying to work in humane conditions. Patricia isn't just the person who asks COVID questions and hands out masks; she is the first person to offer a friendly greeting to patients entering the Cancer Centre—some for the very first time, some for the 25th time.

It's interesting that when you google expressions such as "treating service providers with respect," the vast majority of search results deal with service providers' showing respect for customers and clients, not the other way around. In an effort to redress that imbalance, I offer the following suggestions on how we can show appreciation to service providers:
  • Thank them. Tell your service provider what their efforts have meant to you.
  • Follow their instructions. Many service providers are simply providing directions that their bosses have asked them to give. Accept the direction with a smile.
  • Use their name. Service providers often begin their interactions by saying their name. If they don't, or you didn't hear it, or you forgot it, simply say, "I'm sorry, what was your name (again)?" Then address them by their name as you thank them for their help.
  • Acknowledge their challenges. Many organizations are short-staffed, leaving their employees doing double or triple duty. Let your service provider know that you see how hard they are working and that you are grateful for their efforts.
  • Do your part. If you're supposed to be at your appointment 10 minutes before it starts, do so. If you're late, apologize.
  • Tell their boss what great service they provided. It's not always easy to identify a supervisor to whom to pass along a good word about the wonderful assistance a service provider offered, but take the opportunities to do so when they present themselves.
  • Share a positive review online. Businesses benefit from positive online reviews and many love to see their employees acknowledged for their excellent service, particularly service delivered under difficult circumstances.
  • Leave a gift for them and their colleagues. Several people have told me that they left boxes of chocolates for their cancer care teams to show their appreciation.
  • Send them a thank you letter. A friend who used to be a nurse still has the first thank you note she ever received from a patient.
  • Listen to them. Service providers often have tough jobs, repeating the same process over and over for hours on end. Sometimes a sympathetic ear and an encouraging smile will give them just the shot in the arm they need to make it through the rest of their shift.
I do not always succeed at being demonstratively appreciative of service providers, but I try to show respect for them no matter what. I believe that service providers need to be treated with dignity—now more than ever.