[2022-01-09] Winter

It was just the kind of winter day I like. The warm temperature made for a pleasant walk. The enormous snowflakes fluttering to the ground as we left the house contributed to the softness of the scene. The old dog we met on our route created a moment of mutual affection. The laughter of children and adults as they tobogganed on a nearby hill added to our joy in being out in nature.

Getting out for a walk made me feel accomplished and virtuous, permitting me to spend a guilt-free afternoon snuggled indoors in a warm spot. I devoted part of the day to lying with my old dog, Freddie, who miraculously turned 15 a few days ago. He seemed to enjoy having someone close by, stroking his fur as he napped. I watched The Great British Bake Off as I kept him company.

I'm happy that I get a break from radiation on weekends. While going to the Cancer Centre is an efficient in-and-out process, it's nice to have two days when I have no commitments, when I don't have to think about cancer treatments, and when I can enjoy all that the winter season has to offer.

This period of radiation therapy reminds me of something Katherine May writes in her book Wintering: "We have seasons when we flourish, and seasons when the leaves fall from us, revealing our bare bones. Given time, they grow again." Last winter, I was undergoing chemotherapy treatment; this winter, I'm going through radiation treatment. I'm actually grateful for the timing: if I must deal with cancer, let it be during the quiet months of winter.

Melanie mentioned today that, in the past, she didn't much care for winter. But now, like me, she enjoys the crisp air and soft snow that winter offers along with its allowance for the pursuit of quiet activities indoors. This perspective is much like Edith Sitwell's description of winter: "Winter is the time for comfort, for good food and warmth, for the touch of a friendly hand and for a talk beside the fire: it is the time for home." This appropriately describes many of the things I like about winter, though I would substitute "a talk on a snowy walk" for "a talk beside the fire." Winter is a time for home.