[2022-01-17] Radiation oncology check-in #2

Despite today's once-in-a-decade snowstorm, I made it to radiation this morning. Thankfully, Chris came with me. It was slow going on the way to the Cancer Centre and absolutely treacherous on the way back. Whenever we encountered a red light, I would jump out of the car to knock the ice off the windshield wipers.

We went early to ensure that I made it on time. Because some others hadn't been able to make it, the radiation therapists were able to take me right away.

I opted to take my weekly meeting with my radiation oncologist by phone. My call with Dr. Jin was short, as I am not yet experiencing any serious side effects of radiation. This is what Dr. Jin expected at this point in my series of treatments. The only impact is a mild tingling and a pink hue in the skin of the target areanothing that a little cream can't soothe.

I expect that I will face more daunting side effects in the future, but as I said to my radiation therapists today, I live by the adage "Make hay while the sun shines." In other words, when I have a lot of energy, I do many thingswalking, baking, cooking, cleaning, writing, shoveling snowand when I don't, I rest. For instance, having gotten up extra early this morning because of the snowstorm, I was a little sleepy after lunch, so I took a short nap.

Let's hope the drive tomorrow is much better.

9 down, 16 to go.