[2022-01-18] COVID vaccine: fourth dose

Yesterday, I received a call from a nurse in The Ottawa Hospital's Gynecologic Oncology team informing me that I was eligible for a fourth dose of a COVID vaccine. This is because of the drug I take to suppress the recurrence of tumours associated with ovarian cancer.

I immediately made an appointment, but had second thoughts about getting a booster during the week. I was worried that I might feel ill from the booster while going to daily radiation treatments.

So this morning, I asked my radiation therapists whether I should postpone the jab until Friday, potentially leaving me time to recover on Saturday and Sunday, when I get a break from radiation.

"If you're feeling OK, don't delay" was their advice. They were both very supportive of cancer patients' getting boosters as soon as possible.

So this afternoon, I headed off to the Nepean Sportsplex for my fourth dose. It was much less busy than in December when I had accompanied my husband there to get his third dose. I experienced no lineups at all today.

After having received three doses of Pfizer for shots one, two and three, I was offered Moderna. The nurse who gave me my jab told me that Pfizer is being reserved for children and young people. I was fine to get Moderna, believing that the best vaccine is the one that's available when my turn comes up.

Because of my status as a cancer patient, I was given a full dose of Moderna, as opposed to the typical half dose of Moderna administered as a booster.

I'll be taking it easy tonight, hoping to get ahead of any booster side effects. I'm never demoralized by short-term pain for long-term gain, especially after having had two surgeries, chemotherapy, monthly blood draws, a two-month period of adjusting to a drug, a trip to emergency, wound care, four COVID vaccine jabs, and now 25 rounds of radiation. These are all small sacrifices towards a greater good: the chance at increased longevity and better health in the future.