[2022-01-23] Better days

I've been feeling off since last Wednesday. At first, I chalked it up to the impacts of my fourth dose of a COVID vaccine on Tuesday. Then I wondered whether I had a cold or flu simultaneous to my recovery from the jab. Today, I wondered whether I'm starting to experience side effects associated with radiation, such as fatigue.

It reminded me of this quote (author unknown):

I have seen better days, but I have also seen worse. I don't have everything that I want, but I do have all I need. I woke up with some aches and pains, but I woke up. My life may not be perfect, but I am blessed.

Radiation may make me tired, but it does not make me nauseated or cause me to lose all my hair (the way chemotherapy did). I'm still dealing with cancer, but at least my perianal skin cancer is curable. I'll happily accept a few aches and pains if it means I'm still alive to enjoy time with loved ones. Living with a life-threatening illness is not ideal, but it is still living, and I am blessed.