[2022-01-27] Radiation oncology check-in #3.5

I don't normally provide mid-week updates on my radiation progress, but I'm making an exception tonight.

When I arrived for treatment today, one of the radiation therapists said to me, "I have good news. We no longer need to use the bolus."

Since the beginning of my treatments, the radiation technicians have taped a bolus, which is a piece of material, over the area being targeted for radiation to increase the intensity of radiation in that area. Perhaps because of the number of treatments I've already received or because of the negative impact radiation has had on my skin, the bolus is no longer required.

The other good news is that I no longer need to change into a gown for my radiation. I can wear my street clothes.

This means faster, easier treatment and, hopefully, fewer side effects, though no one promised that.

Even before receiving this good news, I was feeling better. A week ago, the radiation therapists were marveling at how good my skin looked. This, of course, changed rapidly just two days later. However, for the past few days, I've added sitz baths, an antibacterial cream and air sessions to my self-care routine. Sitz baths keep the area clean and provide a soothing coolness. Antibacterial cream helps to hydrate my skin while ensuring that I don't develop an infection. And air promotes healing.

So often, we hear the bad news of cancer treatments (such as nausea and pain), but not the good news (such as easier treatments). There is value to those who will go through such treatments in the future and their loved ones to get a sense of what to expect, both the bad and the good.

To readers, it probably feels like my treatments are flying by. That's how it feels to me. I can't believe that I'm already two-thirds of the way to completing my 25 rounds of radiation.

17 down, 8 to go.