[2022-02-18] Some day

Today, I spoke with one of the nurses at the Irving Greenberg Family Cancer Centre. The impacts of radiation continue to worsen, with the main issue being a deterioration of the skin in my pelvic area. Her advice was to increase the frequency of my use of Flamazine, an antibiotic cream to prevent infection, and to continue exposing my skin to air as often as possible.

She didn't appear surprised by my condition, noting that my health might decline for two weeks following the end of radiation. I sighed. As I shared previously, I had been told by one healthcare professional that things might get worse for 3-5 days before they start to get better and by another person that it might take 7-10 days. So even though today is day 10 since my last radiation treatment, I may need to be patient for a few more days. The nurse said that I should start to improve next week. It feels like I will continue to sink before I start to rise. I expect that a full recovery is still a few weeks away.

On the plus side, I'm not in excessive pain. I'm able to cook and do dishes. And I'm able to sleep.

So I'll take inspiration from A.A. Milne, who said: "Rivers know this: there is no hurry. We shall get there some day."

`