[2022-02-23] Looking up

It has now been two weeks and one day since my last radiation treatment. I finally feel like I've stopped sinking; in other words, it would appear that my condition is no longer getting worse.

This is consistent with what the nurse I spoke to last Friday said. She suggested that I might continue to decline for up to two weeks from the end of radiation. Today was the first day that I felt better than yesterday. It's less painful to walk. In fact, I managed to accumulate 8,000 steps on my Fitbit today, compared to an average of 3,000 steps per day over the last week. I took Freddie out for a stroll around the street. It was less painful to sit. And I had the mental and physical energy to tidy up my home office. These are all positive signs.

Continuing the analogy of sinking, I'm not out of the water yet, but I am looking up. I still have many days ahead of me before I get my head above water. It's not clear how long it will take to heal completely, but I'm guessing that it will be at least another two weeks.

But there's something so satisfying about feeling better, even if not all the way better. It rejuvenates my hope that I will one day be able to put this particular cancer behind me.