[2022-02-26] Christmas tree

My daughter and I went for a walk after supper, something we haven't done in some time. It was still daylight when we left and was approaching dusk when we returned. The temperature was moderate, and the winds, light. It was a lovely evening for a stroll.

What struck me most was the number of houses that still had their Christmas lights on. With yesterday's snow, the waning light and the twinkling bulbs, our walk was a delight for the eyes.

Though we no longer have our outdoor Christmas lights and wreath up, we have kept our Christmas tree up in our living room. We decided early in the new year to keep the tree up until after I completed radiation therapy. It represented a bit of cheer to lessen the discomfort of treatment.

In the coming days, we will finally take it down. However, seeing all the Christmas lights this evening convinced me that our choice to extend the holiday season wasn't that odd after all.