[2022-03-01] My purposes

In my post Purpose, I committed to providing a more detailed response about the many purposes I strive to fulfill in my life. In last week's post, I said that one of my purposes is to help people facing cancer, an illness or another worrisome situation by showing compassion and offering a perspective that might provide comfort and even hope. But I also alluded to the idea that I have many intentions that drive me.

Indeed, I believe that we all have multiple purposes and that they shift over time, as our circumstances change. My mission has evolved as I have assumed new roles—student, worker, mother, boss, patient, retiree. My goal as a student was to do well and to get through school as quickly as possible so that I could start working and support myself. My aim as a worker was to add value and loyally support my bosses, colleagues and clients. My hope as a mother was to be present for my children while also being the primary income earner for the family. My aspiration as a boss was to lead with empathy and respect, and to help my employees grow, while delivering on the expectations for my team. My intent as a patient is to do everything I can to restore my health and extend my life, and to share my cancer journey for the benefit of others. My purpose as a retiree is to spend time with family and to make the world a better place by telling my story. As I wrote in my post Mission, a common theme throughout my life has been to work hard, be nice and help others.

I also believe that our purposes are shaped by our experience. As I wrote in my previous post on the subject, dealing with cancer has made me more understanding of fear and anxiety associated with one's health and has made me more empathic toward people facing a life-threatening illness or other health-related challenge. Similarly, a Jenesis reader recently told me: "My purpose in life is to help those who feel they don't measure up because, for so many years, I felt like thisbeing told I'd never amount to anything. It took years of rewriting my thoughts, and in turn, I became the compassionate buddha in heels."

Here are some of the purposes I try to fulfill in my life today:
  • To give to my family.
  • To motivate others to share love.
  • To raise awareness of ovarian cancer, perianal skin cancer and genetic testing.
  • To be open about my cancer to help others going through it and those supporting them.
  • To encourage others to be proactive in taking care of their health.
  • To help young people start or advance their careers.
  • To support girls and women in recognizing their value and achieving their ambitions.
  • To be vulnerable and thereby motivate others to be vulnerable as well.
  • To build a legacy through my words.
  • To make others aware of the positive difference they are making.
  • To be a voice for others.
  • To see the positive in life and the silver linings in difficult situations, inspiring others to see these as well.
Having a purpose in life—or many—helps to make the hard stuff feel more meaningful.