[2022-03-07] Thank a woman

This morning, I worked on speaking points that I will use to deliver an address tomorrow in honour of International Women's Day.

In reflecting today on my cancer journey over the last 18 months, I recalled just how much support I have received from women, including healthcare professionals, fellow cancer survivors, my cancer coach, and numerous relatives, friends, colleagues and new acquaintances.

They helped me prepare for treatment, cared for me, encouraged me, spoiled me with gifts, provided information to facilitate decisions, and assisted me in putting my circumstances into perspective.

International Women's Day is a wonderful time to recognize the women in our lives—both those who do incredible things and those who do small things with incredible love.

My thanks to the women who:
  • care for elderly neighbours;
  • take homemade goodies to a friend;
  • raise money for charity;
  • teach their children to be generous to strangers;
  • stand up for themselves;
  • walk away from an unhealthy relationship;
  • work to improve the lives of the less fortunate;
  • lead with compassion and empathy;
  • care for an ageing parent;
  • foster a child;
  • mentor and sponsor younger women;
  • share stories and helpful information;
  • cheer on other women;
  • go on living after the loss of a loved one;
  • serve as an example of grace;
  • thrive after cancer.
On International Women's Day, thank a woman in your life.