[2022-03-29] Results and days

Results of breast cancer screening

I received the results of my mammogram and breast MRI via MyChart. I'm pleased to share that both are normal.

My mammogram report states "BILATERAL Normal mammogram. BI-RADS 1 (Negative)." A search of the terminology indicates that "BI-RADS 1 is used in situations where the breast is completely unremarkable." I'm thrilled to be unremarkable, at least in this context. My mammogram was on Thursday, March 24, and I received my results in MyChart on Monday, March 28, bright and early.

My breast MRI report states: "BILATERAL breast MRI demonstrates no evidence of malignancy." My breast MRI was on Sunday, March 27, and I received my results in MyChart on Monday, March 28, in the early evening.

In both cases, the recommendation is for "Routine screening in 12 months."

I know that MyChart may not be ideal in all cases, particularly when patients receive bad news. But I get so much relief when I receive good news that I'm grateful the option exists. I receive the results much more quickly than if I had to wait until they came through the mail or via a call with my doctor or doctor's office.

600 days

In response to last night's post, a friend wrote to me: "I can’t believe that 600 days has flown by so quickly."

I hadn't focused on the fact that 600 posts meant 600 days.
  • In fact, it's been 608 days since I learned that I had ovarian cancer (I started my blog a week after my diagnosis).
  • 603 days since I married my husband.
  • 601 days since I started medical leave and launched Jenesis.
  • 585 days since I had surgery to remove tumours associated with ovarian cancer.
  • 518 days since I learned that my CA125 level was in the normal range.
  • 446 days since I finished chemotherapy.
  • 142 days since I had surgery to remove a tumour associated with perianal skin cancer.
  • 133 days since I officially retired from the federal public service.
  • 50 days since I finished radiation.
And 608 days of appreciating every moment I'm alive.