[2022-04-02] Gifts

Today, we celebrated my husband's 67th birthday.

I made a lovely supper, which Chris and I enjoyed with our kids. And I managed to find, not one, not two, but three gifts that were perfect for Chris.

In the past, I was often paralyzed by indecision when shopping for presents for Chris. I would hesitate, worried that he wouldn't like my choices. On more than one occasion, I came home empty-handed.

But at some point over the years, I shifted my thinkingI started keeping receipts handy and offering to return anything Chris didn't like. Sometimes, we would do just that, but more often than not, he was pleased with my selections. In fact, some of my most appreciated gifts are ones I second-guessed myself on but ultimately proceeded with.

Gifts don't need to be perfect. Sometimes, a gifteven if exchanged for something elsegives the recipient permission to splurge on an item they might not otherwise have purchased for themselves.