[2022-04-21] Feeling appreciated

Feeling appreciated is one of the most important needs that people have. When you share with someone your appreciation and gratitude, they will not forget you. Appreciation will return to you many times.
~ Steve Brunkhorst

I made four calls today to obtain documents, update online information, change an appointment, and seek advice. In all cases, I thanked my service providersKeith, Ainé, Céline and Sadieby name and expressed sincere appreciation for their help.

This evening, I went to the drugstore to pick up a prescription. Even though I had seen the pharmacy clerk multiple times before, I forgot his name yet again. "Is it Jason?" I asked. "Justin," he corrected. "Oh yes, of course," I replied. "I think I made the same mistake last time," I added. I then took a good look at his nametag, and contemplated out loud: "Justin.... Just in.... This just in.... That's how I'm going to remember your name," I resolved.

Even if I will never interact with these individuals again (with the possible exception of Justin), it's important to me to express my appreciation. It's about more than saying "thank you"; it's about letting each of them know that their efforts made a difference to me.