[2022-04-28] Outstanding Career Award

Today was a special day. I received the Outstanding Career Award as part of the Government of Canada's Communications Awards of Excellence 2022.

The Outstanding Career Award "Recognizes an individual with at least fifteen (15) years of cumulative service who has shown leadership and vision as a communicator, and who actively demonstrated professionalism, integrity, and strong ethics in their day-to-day work."

In a video message I recorded a few weeks ago and that was played during today's virtual awards ceremony, I noted that I was honoured, humbled and touched by this award. I thanked my employees, colleagues, bosses and clients for their support. And I expressed admiration for the communications community, especially as I've watched what these professionals have achieved over the last two years. To be honoured by this community is one of the highlights of my career.

Today, I was given an additional minute to comment on this honour and to share some wisdom with the communications community. I stated that it was a privilege to conclude my career in the public service in the communications field. I was very proud to be part of a community that works incredibly hard, that is committed to serving others, and that collaborates with the utmost professionalism. Communications employees don't always get the recognition they deserve, so the Communications Awards of Excellence are especially important. They not only acknowledge the contribution of communications professionals to advancing the Government's objectives but also highlight examples of stellar performance, as judged by their peers.

I reflected on the tremendous strain the communications community has been under over the past two years. Their work was already demanding before the pandemic, but it became even more exhausting since. Despite this, the community has continued to deliver top-notch communications.

I concluded my remarks by sharing a little wisdom. I said: "If I've learned anything in my time in communications and subsequently facing cancer, it is this: take care of yourself. You can be replaced at work but you are irreplaceable at home."

I recommended that employees take the time to see their doctor, to undergo medical tests, and to take time for themselves and their families. "Taking care of yourself," I suggested, "will not only make you a better employee, but it will also make you a better parent, child, sibling, friend and lover. Yes, even a better lover." We all need a little levity in our lives.

My congratulations to all the winners of this year's Communications Awards of Excellence, to all the nominees and to everyone who works in government communications. You have much to be proud of.