[2022-05-05] Head of your medical team

I had a busy day today, preparing for and delivering a speech to former colleagues at Health Canada, and seeing my doctor for a physical.

I'll come back to my speech tomorrow, but today I wanted to focus on my annual check-up. I've continued to see my family doctor, Dr. Daverne, throughout the pandemic. Honestly, after dealing with two cancers in less than two years, I could have easily said, "Oh I can't do one more doctor's appointment. I'll just skip my physical this year."

But I believe in staying on top of all aspects of my health, not just those related to cancer. Although I get blood work done every month as part of my ovarian cancer follow-up, those tests don't look at indicators such as cholesterol, thyroid and iron. And although I've recently had a mammogram and breast MRI, Dr. Daverne did a breast exam. I also asked her to examine my skin (I don't need any other unexpected cancers) and to take a look at my scar from last November's surgery for perianal skin cancer. All were good.

Dr. Daverne also ordered an abdominal ultrasound to make sure my gallbladder is happy. We both believe that my gallbladder saved my life, taking me to the hospital on July 29, 2020, where my ovarian cancer was discovered by happenstance.

I also inquired about vaccines against Tetanus, Diphtheria and Pertussis. I recently pulled out my paper immunization records and saw that my last booster for Tetanus and Diphtheria was in 2010. I had no record of a Pertussis shot. Dr. Daverne informed me that the Pertussis shot has been added to the Tetanus and Diphtheria shot, so I was able to catch up on all three today. I'm covered for 10 years.

I recorded today's vaccine in the CANImmunize app, which I recently downloaded to help me keep track of my vaccinations. In addition to today's trio, I have recorded the dates of my vaccinations against COVID, shingles, pneumonia and influenza. I recommend the app.

I love seeing Dr. Daverne, as she is incredibly positive and practical. She said that she expects me to beat the odds with respect to ovarian cancer because of my positive attitude. For me, having a positive attitude means I'm more likely to take action to improve my health and prevent disease, such as requesting a physical and taking a list of concerns with me, agreeing to and going for imaging tests, getting my blood work done, keeping on top of my vaccinations and obtaining all that I'm eligible for.

More than once today, I found myself saying, "You are the head of your medical team," which was wise advice given to me at the beginning of my cancer journey. With that in mind, I encourage you to request a physical, to learn your family's health history (I was actually rather vague on the details today), to make a list of items to raise with your doctor, and to follow up on requisitions for diagnostic tests and blood work.