[2022-05-08] World Ovarian Cancer Day 2022

Ovarian cancer has been described in various ways, some more morbid than others. I prefer "the disease that whispers" to "the silent killer."

Because the symptoms of ovarian cancer are vague and can easily be attributed to other, less harmful conditions, most people who develop the disease are diagnosed at Stage 3 or Stage 4. In the absence of a reliable screening method to detect ovarian cancer, our best hope against last-stage diagnosis is for people to know the signs and symptoms of the disease and to seek medical attention early.

Accordingly, on the occasion of World Ovarian Cancer Day, I take the opportunity to reiterate the symptoms of ovarian cancer:
  • Bloating or swelling of the abdomen (sometimes combined with weight loss)
  • Difficulty eating or feeling full quickly, loss of appetite, heartburn, gas, indigestion or nausea
  • Pain or a feeling of pressure in the pelvis or abdomen
  • Increased urgency or frequency of urination
  • Bleeding from the vagina that isn’t normal (such as heavy or irregular bleeding, bleeding between periods), especially after menopause
  • Frequent discharge from the vagina that is clear, white or coloured with blood
  • A lump that can be felt in the pelvis or abdomen
  • Changes in bowel movements, such as constipation or diarrhea
  • Back pain
  • Fatigue
  • Unexplained weight loss or weight gain
  • Pain during intercourse
  • Buildup of fluid in the abdomen, around the lungs or in the legs
  • Difficulty breathing
Look for symptoms that are:
  • New – they are not normal for you and may have started in the last year
  • Persistent – they have been present for more than 3 weeks
  • Frequent – you notice the symptoms happen frequently
For additional context, see Ovarian Cancer Canada's Signs & Symptoms, the Canadian Cancer Society's Symptoms of ovarian cancer and the American Cancer Society's Signs and Symptoms of Ovarian Cancer.

As I've described before, the only symptom I had that was new and remarkable was a need to urinate more frequently (bladder infection?). If I experienced swelling in the abdomen, it was subtle (too many cookies in lockdown?). Weight loss was also subtle; others told me after I was diagnosed that they thought I was losing weight, but I never noticed (stress?). Any fatigue I experienced wasn't new (working 90 hours a week on limited sleep?). I had minor discomfort in my abdomen if I laughed too hard (gallbladder?).

It was easy to attribute my symptoms to something else, including the tremendous pressure that I and so many others were under in the midst of the pandemic. I am lucky that I didn't spend months or years havingbut ignoringthe symptoms. And it's fortuitous that the pain in my abdomen (I still believe it was associated with my gallbladder) took me to the emergency department where an ultrasound was performed the same day and led to my diagnosis. Even with this luck on my side, I was ultimately diagnosed with Stage 3C high-grade serous carcinoma, the most common type of ovarian cancer.

Ovarian cancer may be the disease that whispers but if those of us who have had this illness can amplify its signal by sharing its signs and symptoms, it doesn't have to be.

Happy Mother's Day to all mothers and people who are motherly.