[2022-05-15] FiftyForFox fundraiser

Today, I had the honour of meeting Lauren Small, who is doing a 10 km run in each of Canada's provinces to raise money for The Terry Fox Foundation. Her campaign, #FiftyForFox Canadian Tour, refers not only to her fundraising goal of $50,000 but also to her age, a beautiful and vibrant 50 years.

Lauren began her tour in her hometown of Montreal, Quebec, in March, followed by a stop in Halifax, Nova Scotia, in April. Today's run in Ottawa checks the box on Ontario, and June's jaunt will take her to Calgary, Alberta. Future dates will be announced as they're planned. Here is Lauren's story in her own words:

My FiftyForFox birthday fundraiser is a concept I envisaged to celebrate my fiftieth birthday. I will run a 10KM in every province and territory, once per month, wrapping up in Terry's home province of British Columbia with a marathon! Because of evolving protocols associated with COVID, I will be giving myself a little over a year to complete. This is an important milestone to achieve my next half-century goals.

As you know, The Terry Fox Foundation is very near and dear to me. 24 years never missing a Terry Fox Run! Over the last decade, I have participated in a number of Terry Fox events and have been privileged to meet Terry's family members, who are exceptionally dedicated and kind. Terry is my hero. Thinking about his courage, fortitude and resilience have got me through some of my darkest days of loss.

This year will mark 30 years since I lost my mom and 13 years since I lost my dad to cancer. It has taken me a long time to reconcile the loss and grow from my experience. Although my goal of 50K is ambitious, I know I can do it with you!

I can only imagine how difficult and heartbreaking it must have been for Lauren to lose first her mom and then her dad to cancer. Despite this tremendous loss, Lauren today projected a serenity and joie de vivre that I found refreshing. She exuded positivity and gratitude. It was a morale boost for me to meet her, decked out in my red Terry Fox Run shirt from my first such walk last fall.

Miraculously, the rain and thunderstorms that were forecast to take place throughout the day were nowhere in sight as a small group of us, including Ottawa Mayor Jim Watson, congregated at the Terry Fox Memorial Sculpture across from Parliament Hill. The sun was shining and the skies were blue. It was like a sign from the universe. I hope that Lauren was able to complete her run before the rain kicked in.

I was touched that Lauren invited me to join her today and extremely moved when she presented me with a lovely bouquet of tulips. I'm immensely impressed with how she has taken a tragedy and turned it into an opportunity to serve others. We shared a mutual admiration for Terry Fox and reciprocal respect for what each of us is doing.

To contribute to Lauren's fundraiser, visit her #FiftyForFox campaign page.