[2022-06-04] Learning from sadness

As I was cleaning my basement today, I came across a magazine file box full of Highlights for Children magazines. "Do I need to keep these?" I asked myself. I pulled out the first one, dated July 2003, sat down on the floor and started perusing the publication. The final page, entitled "Dear Highlights," provided answers to questions from readers, including this one from Nicholas K.:

I am happy most of the time. Why am I not happy all of the time?

Senior Editor Marileta Robinson admitted that she didn't know the answer but stated that Nicholas' question reminded her of a story:

Once a man asked a painter to paint a picture for him. He told the artist he didn't want shadows in the picture, just sunshine.

When the man saw the finished picture, he was disappointed. It didn't look right. Without shadows, everything in the picture looked flat and unreal.

The point of the story, of course, is that we need both shadows and sunshine to have a complete picture, just as we need both rain and sun to have a living world. Perhaps people, too, need both sadness and happiness to be complete. We often learn important lessons during sad times.

For example, if you are sad because you had an argument with a friend, you might learn to appreciate the friendship more. If you are sad because you did poorly on a test, you might study harder for the next one. When you feel sad, stop and think about what you might learn from the experience.

I loved the idea that we often learn important lessons during sad times. What a wonderful concept to teach children, and what a valuable message for adults.

After reading this passage, I closed the magazine, put it back in the magazine file box, and returned the magazine file box to the shelf. I decided that this little collection of Highlights magazines was worth keeping.