[2022-06-06] Surviving and thriving

Yesterday was National Cancer Survivors Day, a day to celebrate survivors, to inspire the newly diagnosed, to support families and to reach out to the community.

While I'm happy to be a cancer survivor, I'm happier to serve as an example to inspire the newly diagnosed.

I know how scary it is to be told you have cancer. I know how many questions someone diagnosed with the illness has and how few answers are available in the early days. I know how natural it is to imagine the worst case scenario, especially because we often hear of people who have succumbed to the disease.

So every time I hear of someone who has survived for multiple years following treatment for cancer, especially ovarian cancer, I am encouraged. It gives me hope that I, too, will live for many more years.

Equally important is hearing of people who haven't merely survived cancer but who are thriving. People who are grateful for every day they have on this Earth. People who are traveling, spending time with loved ones and living life to the fullest. People who are inspired by their encounter with cancer to help those who come after them.

I feel like a thriver. Healthy, grateful and optimistic. Connected, loved and supported. Hopeful, contented and fulfilled.

My message to someone recently diagnosed with cancer is that, more often than not, there is life after cancer. And that life can be especially sweet.