[2022-06-19] Family Foodie Day

Last year, I turned Father's Day into Foodie Day. I spent the day cooking and baking: fruit-filled crepes for breakfast, a vegan broccoli and chickpea salad for lunch, and homemade pierogies and strawberry shortcake for supper. That much cooking in a day proved to be a lot.

This year, we repeated the tradition of Foodie Day but focused on only one meal. Shane, Melanie and I collectively prepared a Father's Day brunch in honour of Chris: fruit salad, homemade focaccia, roasted potatoes, back bacon, scrambled eggs and a sour cream coffee cake. Given that Shane is not with us every day, this year's Father's Day meal took on added meaning, as both Family Day and Foodie Day, henceforth Family Foodie Day.

I love focusing special days on service to one another as opposed to purchases. And, in my view, making food for someone is one of the best ways to be of service and to show them that they are loved.