[2022-06-20] Cleaning and mental health

As I was cleaning my house today, I reflected on how good it made me feel to put order in my home. I even wondered whether cleaning might contribute to my mental health.

A few hours later, I opened Google to search for something unrelated, and one of the articles that appeared below the search box was this one: N.S. woman goes viral on TikTok after combining passions for cleaning, mental health.

Now, I've long known that Google gathers information on us through our online activity and serves up content and ads that match our interests. I've even thought that Google listens to us, as something I've never searched for but have discussed with someone in person suddenly starts appearing as promoted content (an ad) in my social media feeds. What was uncanny about the article on cleaning and mental health is that I had neither searched for this nor spoken about it. The thought had merely crossed my mind today. (Spooky!)

So, of course, I had to read the article. It's about psychology student Brogan Chambers from Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, who creates and posts videos on TikTok about cleaning and organizing her home and the homes of other people. Chambers says, "I think a lot of people don't realize that huge correlation between cleaning and mental health. It's not something that's researched or discussed enough."

That led me back to Google to search for a link between cleaning and mental health. I came across the article The Relationship Between Mental Health and Cleaning, which states that "research shows that cleaning—or the lack of cleaning—can have a direct impact on mental health." It argues that clutter may contribute to depression and may lead to decreased focus, confusion and tension. For example, a Princeton University study found that the sight of clutter or objects not related to the task at hand can overwhelm a person, making it harder for them to focus on and complete the task they wish to finish. The article notes that "Clutter and mess can create more stress and anxiety, but by cleaning, organizing, and reducing the clutter, people are able to take control of their environment and create a more relaxing environment that helps them focus better on the more pressing issues in their lives."

Cleaning and decluttering not only help people gain a sense of control in their lives, but may also have a calming effect because of their repetitive nature. These activities can also improve people's mood and serve as a source of accomplishment and satisfaction [see my post on my Accomplishments log]. A study at Indiana University found that "people with clean houses tend to be healthier than those with messy or cluttered homes." A study at the University of Connecticut found that "in times of high stress, people default to repetitive behaviors like cleaning because it gives them a sense of control during a chaotic time." The article cites the Anxiety and Depression Association of America, which states that "the physical activity of cleaning coupled with the end result of a cleaner home helps reduce stress, feelings of anxiety, and depressive symptoms." The article also states that "researchers have discovered that people are less irritable, less distracted, more productive, and better able to process information with an uncluttered and organized work area."

The article acknowledges that undertaking a cleaning and decluttering project can be overwhelming. It provides advice on how to get the benefits of such effort without turning it into a source of even more stress.
  • Start small. Set small goals—such as reading and sorting the mail, cleaning the toilet and sink, picking up clothes—and do a little each day. "The key is that you don't make your to-do list bigger than what you can mentally handle or you will just increase your stress rather than reduce it."
  • Set a timer. You could set a timer for as little as 15, 20 or 30 minutes. Work until the timer goes off and then move on to something else.
  • Involve others. Ask family members and friends to help with regular chores or larger projects. Budget permitting, hire someone to help, particularly with harder jobs, such as cleaning the bathroom or washing windows.
I would add one more tip: as it becomes easier to clean and declutter, consider developing a cleaning schedule. Brogan Chambers says her cleaning schedule provides a solid system and routine—essential for someone with ADHD. My own experience with a household chores schedule is that it breaks the huge job of maintaining my home into small chunks and spreads them out over weeks and months, which keeps me from feeling overwhelmed and from trying to do too much on any given day.

As much as I am enjoying the benefits of my cleaner, less cluttered home (the fresh smell, the smoothness of dust-free floors, the unfettered view of the outdoors through clean windows), I support what Chambers says about those who can't or choose not to focus on housecleaning:

Absolutely no judgment. I mean, I struggle with mental health myself and I grew up with a single mom, so I know how tough things can get sometimes. I will never judge anybody for anything like that. One of the things that I preach on my page is that your worth is never dependent on the cleanliness of your home.

What your home looks like does not have any effect on who you are as a person and I think people forget that sometimes, and they base their self-worth on little things like that.

As the The Relationship Between Mental Health and Cleaning article states, "If cleaning and decluttering helps ease your stress, reduces your anxiety, and lifts your mood, then by all means grab your cleaning tools and get started." But if yoga, mindfulness or a massage are more conducive to your mental health, do that. No judgement.

My conclusion from today's readings is that my cleaning and decluttering routine is having a positive influence on my mood and that this connection is backed by research. Cool!