[2022-07-06] 700th post and other milestones

I have much to celebrate on this day.

700th post

First, today is my 700th post in Jenesis.

I feel a bit like the US Postal Service whose unofficial motto is "Neither snow nor rain nor heat nor gloom of night stays these couriers from the swift completion of their appointed rounds." In my case, I might say "Neither cancer nor chemotherapy nor radiation nor COVID stays this blogger from the prompt completion of her daily posts."

Today, a friend wished that I might have "limitless writing inspiration"—something I welcomed since I sometimes struggle to come up with a topic for my nightly reflections. But my friend pointed out that my approach of reporting on my day, a feeling or experience offers a unique and special gift to readers. Her comment made me think that what readers take from my posts is not simply what I say but how I say it, for example, expressing positivity in the face of challenges. I'm reminded of this quote (author unknown):

Our lives are not determined by what happens to us, but by how we react to what happens, not by what life brings us, but by the attitude we bring to life. A positive attitude causes a chain reaction of positive thoughts, events and outcomes. It is a catalyst, a spark that creates extraordinary results.

As evidence of "a spark that creates extraordinary results," a friend shared this with me: "today on your birthday I shot a personal best ever score on the golf course." Now that's some personal power!

56th birthday

Despite the fact that my surprise birthday party on Sunday was cancelled after my husband's positive COVID test and that our two children have since tested positive as well (I continue to test negative, but assume that my number is coming up), and that I spent a quiet birthday at home, I still feel happy to be celebrating another anniversary. I'm here and healthy two years after an unexpected diagnosis of and treatment for ovarian cancer. My cancer markers are encouraging. And I'm surrounded by loving family members and friends. What's not to celebrate?

Freddie's half-birthday

July 6 is not only my birthday, but Freddie's half-birthday as well. Half-birthdays may not be a thing for humans but they should be for dogs, especially those that have lived as long as Freddie has. He turned 15½ today. Every day he is with us is a blessing.

Birthdays give family members, friends and acquaintances a reason to connect. At my age and stage, being remembered fondly is the best gift I could receive. My thank you to everyone who has wished me a happy birthday.