[2022-07-17] Birthday celebration #3

My husband and children have more than made up for my birthday party that didn't happen because of COVID. That event was supposed to take place on July 3. Instead, on my actual birth date (July 6), we celebrated via videoconference with Chris and Shane at my son's condo, and Mel and me at home. It was the best we could do considering that Chris, Shane and Mel all had COVID. Miraculously, I avoided COVID that day and have remained symptom free with four negative tests in the 11 days hence.

We celebrated my birthday again on July 11 when we gathered to honour Freddie, uncertain of just how long we would have him with us. I'm happy to report that Freddie appears to be doing just fine.

Today was birthday celebration #3. In the morning, Mel and I went for a long walk, chatting about music almost the entire way. My husband used the time to slip out to buy a few things for dinner. In the afternoon, Mel and I continued our musical exploration by sitting on the deck, listening to dozens of songs in a variety of themes: songs with unusual time signatures, tracks with famous back-up singers, best rock duets of all time, songs that sample other songs, selections from different genres (e.g., house, northern soul), original songs and their covers, albums that you can listen to from top to bottom, and two tunes in one.

While Mel and I whiled away the afternoon, Chris cooked, fetched my son, then continued cooking. He prepared corn on the cob, Greek salad, fish with basil pesto and crumb topping, roasted waffle potatoes, yellow beans, and homemade brownies. For added measure, he also served chocolate and caramel eclairs that he had purchased from a local Belgian bakery. Food is my love language, so I felt incredibly appreciated.

Just before dessert, my children presented me with a custom sign they had ordered from a local business. It bears the name Cafe Jen, which is both the title of my first blog and the term I often use in reference to my backyard. I can't wait to see the sign posted, along with the new solar-powered accent lights that Chris purchased for the deck.

I feel special, blessed, honoured, valued and loved.