[2022-07-25] Peace as a priority

I came across this quote tonight in the Peaceful Mind Peaceful Life Instagram account.

I am at a place in life where peace is a priority. I deliberately avoid certain people and situations to protect my mental, emotional, and spiritual state.

I was struck by the notion that "peace" could be a priority. I checked my priorities list to see whether it was already covered. "Could it fit under my Health priority?" I wondered. "Nah, that wouldn't do it justice," I concluded.

I then asked myself: "Is peace a by-product of another priority or is it something unique on which I can take action the way I can take action to ensure that I'm getting a good night's sleep, spending time with loved ones, or making and eating good food?"

So I added "Peace" to my list of priorities and started thinking about the sub-elements of this potential new objective—the concrete steps I could take that would demonstrate that this was, indeed, a goal of primary importance. At first, I thought about things I wouldn't do (like the idea expressed in the quote of avoiding certain people and situations), but after a while, I started thinking about things I would do. Here is the list I came up with:
  • Saying no to things I don't want to do, that are unhealthy and that are contrary to my values
  • Avoiding content that is detrimental to my mental health
  • Limiting my exposure to people who are negative, judgmental or unkind
  • Letting go of problems that are not mine to solve
  • Taking action to redress a wrong
  • Consuming and sharing good-news stories
  • Spending time in nature, especially walking in nature
  • Decluttering my space
  • Listening to music
  • Practising gratitude
  • Redirecting negative thoughts
  • Keeping my schedule light
  • Taking a break from technology
I concluded that peace is a priority.

I thought about the fact that I might have struggled to find peace if I were still working full-time, since the life of a leader is largely one of problem-solving. I also considered that I might have had a different set of priorities if I hadn't gotten cancer. Facing cancer reminds me of what it was like to be a young person who befriended a woman twice her age. I benefited from her experience. I saw life through her eyes. I began a journey of self-reflection 20 years before I might have. In the same way, confronting cancer matured me, making me acutely aware of my mortality, the uncertainty of life and the wisdom in seizing every moment.

Having now identified peace as a priority, I expect that I will see opportunities everywhere to avoid stress and nurture peace.