[2023-07-25] Virginia rail, oncology follow-up and recovery day 18

I continued to have low-energy today. Despite this, I accepted my husband's invitation to go for a bird walk. I know from experience that even on days that I don't feel like I have the energy to go for a stroll, once I get started, I feel more energized. Such was the case today.

As we were doing our customary round of Rice Lake, I had my phone out and my Merlin app recording. This time, something new popped up: Virginia Rail. I could hear a bird call that I had never heard before. Just then, we came across a group of birders (their cameras and binoculars giving them away), who were huddled together by the edge of the pond. One man, standing just slightly apart from the group, spoke to us in hushed tones, explaining that they had seen a Virginia Rail. They departed soon after, telling us that if we were patient, we would probably see it as well.

Chris and I stood quietly beside the tall reeds lining the pond for 10 minutes, listening to the distinctive call of the Virginia Rail. Alas, it did not reappear. Nevertheless, I added it to my Life List in Merlin on the strength of hearing it and the eye witness accounts of my fellow birders. I would learn later that the group was the Bridlewood Birding Club from Kanata, which meets at various spots around Ottawa every Tuesday morning.

This afternoon, I received a call from nurse Kaley at The Ottawa Hospital's Women's Breast Health Centre, which I had contacted yesterday. I explained how I was feeling: tired overall and tired of the one remaining drain. She reassured me that it is not uncommon to still have one or more drains after 18 days. And she confirmed that the drain would need to come out by Friday, three weeks from my surgery date. She also said that it's understandable that I would feel low energy given how much effort my body is expending to heal itself. She added that people recovering from surgery experience a roller coaster effect: up one day, down the next. She was pleased that I have an appointment scheduled for Thursday to have the remaining drain removed, and happy that despite my fatigue, I'm feeling generally OK, with no sign of a fever or infection.

Then it was off to the Irving Greenberg Family Cancer Centre for a follow-up with my radiation oncologist. Dr. Jin oversaw my radiation treatments in January and February 2022 and has been monitoring me for a recurrence of perianal skin cancer since then. Before Dr. Jin came in, I met nurse Fiona. After asking questions pertaining to perianal skin cancer, she asked about my bilateral mastectomy (she normally works with breast cancer patients). I mentioned to her that nurse Tuite had done a great job yesterday dressing the drain site, except that the sutures were sometimes poking me. It felt like being jabbed with a staple. Fiona took a look, saw the errant suture and simply added some tape to tame the offending stitch.

Next came Resident Dr. Wilson. She asked how I was doing in relation to my perianal skin cancer and whether I had any concerns. (Good and no.) She checked my pelvic lymph nodes, pronouncing them to be fine. We then got talking about my bilateral mastectomy. I described my surgery (mastectomy with immediate reconstruction). I showed her what my reconstructed breasts looked like, something she appreciated seeing firsthand.

Then came Dr. Jin. Like Dr. Wilson, she asked how I was doing and whether I had any concerns or questions. (Good and no.) Both she and Dr. Wilson performed a rectal exam, once again noting that everything appeared fine. Since we are still within two years of my treatment for perianal skin cancer, Dr. Jin said that she would see me again in four months.

That's a lot of activity for one day, but it was all positive and encouraging.

Just two more sleeps until the second drain comes out and perhaps a few more after that until I can finally go back to sleeping on my sides.