[2022-07-27] Making invisible gratitude visible

When I retired last year, my staff in the Assistant Deputy Minister's Office took me out to lunch. Among the gifts they bestowed on me that day was a gift card to Le Hibou café in Wakefield, Quebec.

It took a while to put the gift card to use, but tonight my family and I finally visited Le Hibou. The food was delicious, the view of the Gatineau River, serene, and the weather, perfect. Even the drive was gorgeous, reminiscent of our many trips to the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region of Quebec to visit Chris' family.

I try to make a point (though I rarely succeed) to let gift-givers know what came of their gift. My ADMO staff, for example, might like to know that my family and I enjoyed a lovely dinner this evening thanks to their kindness. They might also like to know that the artwork they gave me sits atop a set of shelves that contain mementos from my work family and my personal family. Tonight, I recalled my former colleagues fondly and praised them to my family.

I almost always remember the gift-giver when I behold an object they gave mea book, a glass, a set of pyjamas, a gift card to a favourite store. Those gift-givers are no doubt oblivious to the long-lasting appreciation they have engendered in me through their offerings. I will try harder to make my invisible gratitude visible to the givers, especially when their presents are continuously valued or enjoyed many months later.