[2022-08-18] Another 7

For those keeping track (I sure am), today's CA125 result marks the 21st month in a row that the level of cancer antigen in my blood is in the normal range. As I've written before, my oncologists want to see a number that is low (below 35) and stable (remaining at a fairly consistent number month over month).

Last month's 7 was followed by another 7 today. I never thought I would see that number again after my CA125 level edged up to 8 in October 2021 and remained there for eight months. And I certainly didn't expect to get another 7 today. But I'm very happy to see that number. Perhaps there's no significant difference medically between 7 and 8, but psychologically it feels momentous.

A normal CA125 is more than a number. It represents another month with no evidence of disease, another month of life, another month of being present for family and friends, and another month of writing and making a positive contribution to the world.

It's like what author Jacqueline Winspear wrote about stories: "In learning about the myths and legends of old, we learn something of ourselves. Stories, Maisie, are never just stories. They contain fundamental truths about the human condition." Similarly, stories of medical ups and downs are universal—a fundamental part of the human condition.

I never tire of good news, or take it for granted, or expect that it will be forever thus. Tonight's result got me thinking about other things that never get old:
  • Getting an A in class.
  • Receiving a positive performance review.
  • Harvesting anything from the garden.
  • Successfully baking bread.
  • Seeing a rainbow.
  • Making a perfect connection between two buses.
  • Getting all green lights on a drive through town.
  • Seeing fireworks.
  • Receiving a gift, especially an unexpected one.
  • Winning a game.
  • Witnessing the beauty inherent in each season.
  • Getting a clean bill of health.