[2022-08-22] Greg's Day 2022

I think of my brother Greg on many days, but especially on August 22. Today marks the third anniversary of the day he died.

I'm surprised at the sorrow that returns whenever Greg's Day comes around. Most days when I think of him, it is with fondness and perhaps a tinge of gloom. But on August 22, I always experience deeper sadness, which I see as a reflection of my love for him.

Nevertheless, I choose not to dwell on what I lost. Instead, I focus on what I loved: a generous, caring, sensitive brother.

I associate Greg with music. That was the case recently when I heard a new song that immediately reminded me of him. It's "Soul Sweet Song" (Spotify, YouTube) by Tedeschi Trucks Band. Released on August 10, 2022, the song is a tribute to the group's original keyboardist, Kofi Burbridge. Coincidentally, Burbridge was born in 1961 and died in 2019—the same years that Greg arrived on and departed from this Earth. I believe that Greg, also a musician, would have appreciated Kofi's talent and liked the music of Tedeschi Trucks Band.

The chorus of "Soul Sweet Song" captures well my emotions:

Now there's no use wishing for your sweet return
Cause I see you in the morning sun
And I hear you on the whispering wind
And I feel your rhythm moving me
Cause your soul's sweet song's still singing

Greg's sweet song endures.