[2022-08-27] Olivette's birthday

It's my mom's birthday today. She is 84.

The photo below accurately captures my mom's playful side. She likes a good joke.

When I was younger, circa 1980, my sister and I were in our room listening to music with the door closed. "Doin' It Right" by the Powder Blues Band came on the radio. We both liked the song, and turned it up. Loud. My mother, who was in her bedroom, yelled across the hall for us to turn it down. We ignored her. All of a sudden, my sister and I heard an enormous bang. We no doubt screamed in shock and immediately turned off the radio to figure out what had happened. All we could hear was my mother laughing. We opened the door to our room and saw one of my mom's wooden clogs lying on the floor where it had come to rest after she had thrown it across the hall at our door. Touché!

Happy birthday, Mom. May you enjoy many more birthdays in health, happiness and humour.