[2022-08-28] Family gathering

It feels like it's been years since we had a family get-together. In reality, it hasn't been that long. But we've missed so many gatherings because of COVID (including a surprise birthday party my family planned for me but had to cancel because of the virus) that it feels special when a large group of us gets together. And that's as it should be. Families are precious. Family gatherings are special. And celebrating my mom's birthday is the best reason of all to come together.

Today is also the two-year anniversary of my surgery to address ovarian cancer. It was on the very porch pictured in the photo, just over two years ago today, that I told my family of my cancer diagnosis. We didn't know then what my prognosis would be. How wonderful it is that all members of my family are still here, two years later.