[2022-08-31] Mantras

I recently came across an article offering 17 Mantras for Hard Times. I've always liked phrases that I can use to calm myself when worries consume my thoughts or when I feel insecure. Some call these mantras; others, affirmations. In either case, there's nothing like a pithy saying to help me see the positive side of any situation.

Of the 17 mantras suggested by coach Katie Linder, these four stood out for me:
  1. I am capable.
  2. Challenges can teach.
  3. I have choices.
  4. Life is change.

I am capable.
No matter where we are in our lives, we encounter tasks that we've never done before or haven't done in a very long time. In the past three years, my list of new circumstances included coping with grief over the death of my brother, helping my mom to administer my brother's estate, leading the federal government's health communications during a pandemic, dealing with cancer, launching and maintaining a daily blog, supporting my son in buying and setting up a condo, and retiring. The hardest thing on this list was coping with the sudden loss of my brother. The second hardest was being responsible for health communications as the coronavirus swept the world. On many days, I felt overwhelmed and incompetent. In retrospect, I wish that I had had the mantra "I am capable" to remind myself of my strengths.

Challenges can teach.
My greatest teacher in the last few years has been cancer. When I was first diagnosed, I had no idea how much I would learn about cancer in general and ovarian cancer in particular, how much I would learn about myself, and how much I would learn about the love that so many people had for me. As I underwent cancer treatment, I came to understand the importance of living for today, being grateful and appreciating others.

I have choices.
These three simple words are incredibly empowering. When we think we are boxed into a corner, it helps to remind ourselves of what we can control. In almost every circumstance (though, sadly, not all), we have choices about the way we see the world, about how we respond, and about who we allow to occupy a privileged place in our lives. When we're stuck, it may be helpful to repeat, "I have choices."

Life is change.
When I reflected on just the last three years of my life, I was amazed at the amount of change I had faced. Had I been asked in 2019 what I expected to see in the next three years, I would never have predicted the loss of my brother, a global health crisis, and cancer. And yet, I survived 100% of my toughest days. When hard times come, it bears repeating that "life is change."

At the conclusion of her article, Linder recommends: "If any of these mantras are a good fit for you, I recommend putting it in a place where you will see it often." I used to keep inspiring messages in my office notebook or on my office walls, but I never got into the practice of doing it in my personal life. A future project will include a compilation of my favourite mantras.